About Us


The Sri Lanka Foundation is known to be the foremost and pioneering adult education center in Sri Lanka,established in 1974 consequent to an agreement between The Sri Lanka Foundation and The Friedrich Ebert Stiftung .Today,the Sri Lanka Foundation is on a stronger footing whereby it is regularized under an act of Parliament,The Sri Lanka Foundation Law no.31 of 1973. Sri Lanka Foundation functions autonomously under the purview of HE The President of Sri Lanka and is Manage by a Board.

SLF as a center of Leadership,Education and Training offers a wide range of academic programs in dynamic fields namely,Social and Institutional Development,Psychology and Counselling,Business and Enterprise Development,Language and ICT,Digital Film Academy and Tourism & Hospitality

Management. SLF has Established a center for well being to foster and nature multi-dimensional aspects of improving quality of life.

For the past almost 40 years of It’s existence,SLF has being working with International Institutions,Governmental,Non-Governmental Organisations and has being very closely linked with local community development organisations in reaching it’s primary objective of “Being the center of leadership,education and training”.To date,we have being very successful in accomplish our goal to improve the quality of life covering whole areas and districts of the country.

" A Sri Lankan society educated on democracy, human rights and governance for social progress."
To support democratic governance through policy advocacy, education, training and awareness building.
We Value an equitable, accountable, transparent, integrated, pluralistic society free of any form of discrimination.

Senior Attorney Mr.Sarrath Kongahage

Chairman - Sri Lanka Foundation

Mr Sarath Kongahage was appointed the Chairman of the Sri Lanka Foundation on 9th July 2017. The 14th chairman of SLF, Mr Kongahage was the Sri Lankan Ambassador to Germany and Switzerland, and also High Commissioner to South Africa. He currently a media adviser to His Excellency the President.

Mr. Sarrath Kongahage has an extensive career as a professional in political, legal, diplomatic and media fields. He has his Bachelor of Arts honours degree in Mass Communication from the University of Kelaniya. In 1981, he passed out from Sri Lanka Law College as an Attorney at Law.

Mr Kongahage has held numerous positions in the state sector as the Chairman of Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation, acting Chairman of Associate Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd (Lake House) and Director Editorial, Chief Executive Officer of Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation and Chief Executive Officer of the Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation. During 2007-2009 Mr Kongahage has worked as a consultant to the Ministry of Mass Media. He also has offered his services as a legal consultant to the department of Bribery Commission.

Mr Kongahage started his political career as a founder member of Sri Lanka People’s Party and was subsequently appointed as the Leader of the party. He was a Member of Parliament, the Chairman of the Central Provincial Council and Opposition Leader of the Central Provincial Council in 1988.

He also served the private sector in senior management capacity as the Director Station Sirasa and MTV Television channels and was the Chairman of CENOR Foundation.

Major General Anton Muttukumaru

( June 1974 - September 1977 )

Dr H.W Jayewardene

( 1977 - 1990 )

Justice J.F.A Soza

( August 1990 - November 1994 )

Dr Jayadeva Uyangoda

( December 1994 - November 1997 )

Dr Chandima de Mel

( December 1997 - December 2000 )

Prof P V B Karunatilaka

( February 2001 - January 2004 )

Dr P.B.Jayasundara

( February 2004 - March 2005 )

Mr Javid Usuf

( April 2005 - December 2005 )

Mr Koggala Wellala Bandula

( January 2006 - June 2007 )

Dr Chandana P Udawatte

( July 2007 - May 2010 )

Prof Ranjith Bandara

( June 2010 - January 2015 )

Mr.Malith Jayathilake

( January 2015 - August 2015 )

Prof Kapila Gunasekara

( September 2015 - April 2017 )

Mrs K. A. D. M. Premalie Wijeweera

Director - Finance & Administration

Dr Saman Weerawansa

Director(Academic affairs)

Mrs T. S. K. Bulumulla

Asst. Director

Mr J. L. K. Rathnayake


Mrs Y.S Nanayakkara

Internal Auditor

Mr A. S. Rathnayaka

Maintainers Officer

Mr Senaka J Wasala

Academic Registrar

Mr M. A. Ananda Perera

Asst. Accountant

Mr L. D. Chandralal

Asst. Accountant

Mr N. P. Wijeweera

Technical Officer

Mr Y. M. U. Ranjan Yapa

Supplies Officer

Mr M. K. Chinthaka Aruna Shantha

Administrative Officer

Mr Pasan Kodithuwakku

Asst. Hostel Manager

Mr A. L. D. H. Gunarathna

IT Officer

Dr Saman Weerawansa

Designation : Senior Lecturer
Email : weerasaman@gmail.com
Mobile : 0714434911

Dr Wijayantha Ukwatta

Designation : Senior Lecturer
Email : wijayanthau@yahoo.com
Mobile : 0094717518074

Dr R.M. Vijeratne

Designation : Senior Lecturer
Email : vijeratne@gmail.com
Mobile : 0714539476/0112687506

Mr Bharatha Indrajith Herath

Designation : Senior Lecturer
Email : bharatha@slf.lk
Mobile : 071-8281883, 0714539485

Mr Anusha A B Liyanage

Designation : Senior Lecturer
Email : anushal318@gmail.com
Mobile : +94711039941

Mrs Promoda Sarojini Wicramasingha

Designation : Lecturer Grade I
Email : saro499@yahoo.com
Mobile : 0714539484

Mrs Wasantha Pathirana

Designation : Lecturer- Grade I
Email : wasantha@slf.lk
Mobile : 0112 69 18 14 (Ext: 271)

Miss Pubudu Senaratne

Designation : Lecturer
Email : Prebhash05@yahoo.com
Mobile : 0779826966

Miss Milani Perera

Designation : Lecturer
Email : milaniwanni@yahoo.com
Mobile : +94711040131